And we place our hope... · Anniversaries · Faith · Updates

And to the Next 7 Years

A lot has happened in the last 7 years…Both physically and in our hearts.

 

{I met the love of my life by God’s grace in a moment when I thought true REAL love was hopeless, or that I was un-loveable}

     {We got married}

{I was broken and bruised from choices and chains from my past}

     {I grieved waiting for 3 years for the birth of our first son since God didn’t allow it in MY time}

{We experienced the birth of our first son- He was a surprise and delight in more ways than one}

     {I realized God had an agenda of his own and grace that I failed to see}

{We learned Jono’s work center was closing and were forced to make a choice to stay and take severance or move to keep his job}

     {We picked up everything and moved to Utah with our 3 month old son- I questioned God’s plan for that one}

{God used this new place to Heal my heart}

       {I realized His plans and timing were better than anything I could have asked or dreamed for}

{Again, I tried to schedule out our lives by thinking I could just have our 2nd child in MY time}

{I was wrong.  Once again, I was reminded that God’s plans are better than my own.  I decided to let go and be all in for whatever He had planned for us}

{God showed me His grace again and answered a prayer to go to school and get my Masters in counseling}

Again, not my timing but I’m leaning in.  Waiting, watching, listening.  Humbled.  Grateful.

Jono and I celebrated our 6 year anniversary recently.  Over dinner, we shared our favorite parts of the last 6 years.  One of my favorite things was that we had 3 years to travel and enjoy one another before Bubs came.  God’s grace in hindsight is beautiful.  It’s actually Magnificent!

Here I stand, once again on the edge of the next 7 years of my life.  God, please help me to remember this lesson of your goodness and to trust the bigger picture you see is far greater for me than any list or master plan I can check off my list.  Help me to live this 7 years with eternity in mind.

Isaiah 55:8-9 keeps running through my head…

Isaiah 55

Perhaps it’s because I’ve recently watched the Movie, God’s Not Dead.  However, tonight, I went back to read the verse in context:

The Compassion of the Lord

55 “Come, everyone who thirsts,
    come to the waters;
and he who has no money,
    come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without price.
Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
    and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good,
    and delight yourselves in rich food.
Incline your ear, and come to me;
    hear, that your soul may live;
and I will make with you an everlasting covenant,
    my steadfast, sure love for David.
Behold, I made him a witness to the peoples,
    a leader and commander for the peoples.
Behold, you shall call a nation that you do not know,
    and a nation that did not know you shall run to you,
because of the Lord your God, and of the Holy One of Israel,
    for he has glorified you.

“Seek the Lord while he may be found;
    call upon him while he is near;
let the wicked forsake his way,
    and the unrighteous man his thoughts;
let him return to the Lord, that he may have compassion on him,
    and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.
For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.

10 “For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven
    and do not return there but water the earth,
making it bring forth and sprout,
    giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater,
11 so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth;
    it shall not return to me empty,
but it shall accomplish that which I purpose,
    and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.

12 “For you shall go out in joy
    and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and the hills before you
    shall break forth into singing,
    and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.
13 Instead of the thorn shall come up the cypress;
    instead of the brier shall come up the myrtle;
and it shall make a name for the Lord,
    an everlasting sign that shall not be cut off.”

~Isaiah 55:1-13

And when I read the last few verses, I cried.  “You shall go out in joy and be lead forth in peace; the mountains and the hills before you shall break forth into singing and all of the trees of the field shall clap their hands.  Instead of the throne shall come up the cypress.”

{I do a really great job of brining up thorns}

But He promises that instead of my own “brier”, he shall  bring up myrtle.  I had to look up the word.  I have a purple thumb and I wouldn’t know a plant from a tree, however, this my friends is myrtle:

2243-Sioux-Crape-Myrtle

And this beauty that He can make of this thorny life will make His name great!  How can I not let go of my own plans to live a life that glorifies Him for eternity. And so as He has been gracious in these 7 years, so shall He be for the next and on to Eternity.

All Glory be to God!!
Leave a Reply

